Head-to-head comparison

Dell Latitude 5420 vs Dell Latitude 7420

We compare the Dell Latitude 5420 and 7420, looking at performance, memory, and Pakistani prices to see which makes the most of your budget.

Dell · latitudeDell Latitude 5420
Used
Rs. 51,000

Listed configuration · Intel Core i5-1145G7
8GB DDR4-3200 · 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD

Dell Latitude 7420
Dell · latitudeDell Latitude 7420
Used
Rs. 72,000

Listed configuration · Intel Core i7-1185G7
16GB DDR4-3200 · 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD

Interactive comparison

The processor makes a difference.

Choose a processor for each laptop. See how they compare in everyday and demanding CPU work.

Geekbench 6 reference scores

Dell Latitude 5420

Latitude 5420 · Intel Tiger Lake

Intel Core i5-1145G7

Listed configurationMatches the CPU in the base listing

Dell Latitude 7420

Latitude 7420 · Intel Tiger Lake

Intel Core i7-1185G7

Listed configurationMatches the CPU in the base listing

Model-specific options. Alternative CPUs are reference configurations; confirm seller availability.

Single-core performance

Useful for tasks that rely heavily on one core, including many everyday app operations.

Intel Core i5-1145G71,751points
Intel Core i7-1185G71,937points

Intel Core i7-1185G7 · 10.6% higher score

Multi-core performance

Useful for work spread across cores, such as CPU rendering and parallel compilation.

Intel Core i5-1145G75,466points
Intel Core i7-1185G75,367points

Within 5% · similar (1.8% difference)

What this means for you

A single-core advantage, similar multi-core speed

Intel Core i7-1185G7 has a 10.6% higher single-core score. Multi-core reference scores are within 5%.

Inside the selected processors

Intel Core i5-1145G7

Intel Core i7-1185G7

Cores / threads

4 cores / 8 threads

4 cores / 8 threads

Generation / architecture

11th Gen · Tiger Lake

11th Gen · Tiger Lake

Base clock

2.6 GHz

3.0 GHz

Maximum boost

4.4 GHz

4.8 GHz

Clock speed and core count alone do not determine performance across different CPU architectures.

Sources & how to read these results

Higher is better. Each chart scales to the higher of the two comparable scores. The percentage is the higher score divided by the lower score, minus one. Differences of 5% or less are labelled similar.

These are published CPU reference scores, not tests of these specific laptops or seller units. Cooling, power limits, memory, and software affect actual performance. CPU scores do not measure battery life, graphics performance, or gaming frame rates.

  • Intel Core i5-1145G7: CPU-Monkey · Geekbench 6 · Checked .CPU-level reference scores; OS, minor benchmark version, and laptop configuration are not specified by the source.
  • Intel Core i7-1185G7: CPU-Monkey · Geekbench 6 · Checked .CPU-level reference scores; OS, minor benchmark version, and laptop configuration are not specified by the source.
Our verdict

Which one should you choose?

Laptizo ratings are our editorial buying scores for the listed configurations, based on value, specifications, and seller terms.

The Latitude 5420 is our value pick for students, office users, and buyers working to a tighter budget. Its recorded Iqra Traders base offer is Rs. 51,000 for a used 11th Gen Core i5 / 8GB / 256GB unit with a 60-day checking warranty. The Latitude 7420's recorded base offer from the same retailer is Rs. 72,000 for a used 11th Gen Core i7 / 16GB / 256GB unit. That Rs. 21,000 premium buys more installed memory and a lighter, higher-tier chassis; both models belong to the same Tiger Lake generation, so the i7 badge alone is not a reason to stretch your budget. Choose the 7420 if you want 16GB from day one and carry your laptop frequently. Choose the 5420 if keeping the purchase price down matters more, and request a separate RAM-upgrade quote if your workload needs 16GB. Both base configurations have a 256GB SSD. The 7420's Telex 32GB / 256GB touchscreen offer at Rs. 136,499 is a separate configuration, and its six-month checking warranty does not describe the Rs. 72,000 base offer. Confirm the exact CPU, fitted display, battery health, and seller terms for the unit you are buying.

Dell · latitudeDell Latitude 5420
Our pick

Laptizo rating

8.7/ 10
Dell · latitudeDell Latitude 7420

Laptizo rating

8.4/ 10

Choose the Dell Latitude 5420 if…

  • ›Buyers who want an 11th Gen processor at 8th Gen money and would rather spend the difference on RAM later
  • ›Office and IT staff who need USB-C docking, a fingerprint reader, and a keyboard that survives a full day of typing
  • ›Students and parents buying one machine that should still be current in four or five years
  • ›Anyone who values a checking warranty more than a lowest-possible sticker price

Choose the Dell Latitude 7420 if…

  • ›Buyers who want a business laptop with a current-generation processor at a used price
  • ›Anyone comparing the Latitude 7420 against a brand-new Rs. 70,000 laptop and winning on specifications
  • ›Developers and IT staff who need Windows 11, a good keyboard, and USB-C docking
  • ›Office and field professionals who want a metal body that survives daily commuting
Depth comparison

Who wins each category

Practical differences between the listed laptop configurations.

CategoryDell Dell Latitude 5420Dell Dell Latitude 7420
Price & ValueRecorded base quote of Rs. 51,000 for a used 11th Gen Core i5 / 8GB / 256GB unit from Iqra Traders. Saves Rs. 21,000 while keeping the same processor generation and SSD capacity.BetterRecorded base quote of Rs. 72,000 for a used 11th Gen Core i7 / 16GB / 256GB unit from Iqra Traders. The premium is easier to justify for the extra installed RAM and more portable chassis than for the i7 label alone.
Installed Memory8GB RAM in the quoted base configuration. Suitable for lighter office and study workloads, but a 16GB upgrade is worth budgeting for heavier multitasking. Obtain a separate quote for an upgraded unit.16GB RAM in the quoted base configuration gives more room for browser tabs, office applications, and development tools immediately. The 32GB touchscreen listing is a different offer with its own price.Better
Storage256GB PCIe NVMe SSD in the base listing. Enough for Windows, applications, and a modest document library; larger storage requires a separate quote.256GB PCIe NVMe SSD in the base listing as well. Paying more for the 7420 does not increase the quoted storage capacity.
Build & PortabilityDell lists a configuration-dependent maximum weight of 1.37 kg for the 14-inch 5420. It is a practical business-laptop size, although the 7420 has the lower published chassis weights.The higher-tier 7000-series design has Dell-listed laptop weights of 1.22 kg for carbon fibre and 1.31 kg for aluminium. Confirm the chassis and configuration of the seller's unit; the lighter design suits frequent commuting.Better
DisplayThe catalogue's base configuration is a 14-inch Full HD display at 1920x1080. The seller's headline listing does not establish the exact panel or brightness, so inspect the actual screen.The catalogue's base configuration is also 14-inch Full HD at 1920x1080. The separate Telex 32GB offer explicitly includes touch; do not assume touch or a brighter panel is included in the Rs. 72,000 base quote.
Connectivity & DockingThe model specifications include two Thunderbolt 4 USB-C ports, HDMI, USB-A, and Wi-Fi 6. It already covers USB-C docking and everyday office peripherals at the lower base price.The model specifications also include two Thunderbolt 4 USB-C ports, HDMI, USB-A, and Wi-Fi 6. There is no generational docking or wireless upgrade simply from choosing the 7420.
Keyboard & SecurityThe catalogue describes a backlit keyboard, fingerprint reader, and HD webcam with a privacy shutter. The seller publishes a headline configuration, so confirm which optional features are fitted.The catalogue describes the same headline features: a backlit keyboard, fingerprint reader, and HD webcam with a privacy shutter. Check the individual unit rather than assuming every 7420 has identical equipment.
Battery & ConditionThe catalogue lists a 63Wh battery and an up-to-12-hour runtime claim. This is a used unit with no recorded battery-health measurement; that claim is not a measured advantage over the 7420.The catalogue also lists a 63Wh battery, with an estimated 4-8 hours of light use. Actual backup depends on battery wear and workload. Request battery reports for both units before choosing on runtime.
Checking WarrantyA 60-day checking warranty is recorded for the Rs. 51,000 Iqra Traders base offer. Confirm the coverage, exclusions, and claim process with the seller.No checking-warranty duration is recorded for the Rs. 72,000 Iqra Traders base offer, so it cannot be ranked against the 5420's cover. Telex's six-month checking warranty belongs to its separate Rs. 136,499 32GB touchscreen offer.
Hardware & features

Other laptop specifications

Specifications and prices for the listed base configurations.

Laptizo.pkDell · latitudeDell Latitude 5420Rs. 51,000Listed base priceDell · latitudeDell Latitude 7420Rs. 72,000Listed base price
Pricing & availability
Starting PriceRs. 51,000UsedBetterRs. 72,000Used
Graphics
GraphicsIntel Iris Xe GraphicsIntel Iris Xe Graphics
Display
Display14-inch FHD LED1920x108014-inch FHD anti-glare1920x1080
Memory & storage
RAM8GB DDR4-32002 slots · max 64GB16GB DDR4-32002 slots · max 64GB
Storage256GB PCIe NVMe SSD256GB PCIe NVMe SSD
Battery & charging
Battery Capacity4-cell 63 Wh Li-ion4-cell 63 Wh Li-ion
Battery LifeUp to 12 hours63 Wh4–8 hours (estimated, light use)63 Wh
Build & design
Weight1.37 kg (Dell-listed maximum; varies by configuration)1.22 kg (carbon fibre) / 1.31 kg (aluminium)
Dimensions32.35 x 21.08 x 1.79 cm32.1 x 21.5 x 1.7 cm
Chassis MaterialBlackPlatinum Silver (aluminium chassis)
Software & security
Operating SystemWindows 11 ProfessionalWindows 11 Professional
Keyboard & input
WebcamHD 720p Webcam (with privacy shutter)HD 720p Webcam (with privacy shutter)
Fingerprint ReaderYesYes
Backlit KeyboardYesYes
Connectivity & ports
Ports2x Thunderbolt 4 (USB-C) with DisplayPort 1.4, 1x USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A (with PowerShare), 1x HDMI 2.2, 1x Headphone/Microphone combo, 1x RJ-45 Ethernet, 1x microSD Card Reader, 1x Smart Card Reader (optional)2x Thunderbolt 4 (USB-C), 2x USB 3.2 Gen 1 (one with PowerShare), 1x HDMI 2.2, 1x Headphone/Microphone combo, 1x RJ-45 Ethernet, 1x microSD Card Reader, 1x Smart Card Reader (optional)
ConnectivityIntel Dual Band Wi-Fi 6 (AX201), Bluetooth 5.2Intel Dual Band Wi-Fi 6 (AX201), Bluetooth 5.2

Ready to buy?

View detailed specs, prices, and purchase options for each laptop.

More comparisons you might find useful

HPHP EliteBook 840 G6Rs. 60,500
HPHP EliteBook 845 G7Rs. 73,000
Upgrade pathAMD vs Intel

We compare the HP EliteBook 840 G6 and 845 G7, weighing Intel vs Ryzen performance and Pakistani prices to find the best laptop for your budget.

Starting PriceRs. 60,500Rs. 73,000
Cores / Threads4 cores / 8 threads6 cores / 12 threads
WeightStarting at 1.48 kg (non-touch) / 1.51 kg (touch), HP specificationStarting at 1.34 kg (non-touch) / 1.47 kg (touch), HP specification
Battery LifeUp to 14 hoursUp to 12 hours
HPHP EliteBook 840 G6Rs. 60,500
LenovoLenovo ThinkPad E14Rs. 72,000
Direct rivals

We compare the HP EliteBook 840 G6 and Lenovo ThinkPad E14, from everyday specs to Pakistani prices, to help you choose the best laptop for your budget.

Starting PriceRs. 60,500Rs. 72,000
Cores / Threads4 cores / 8 threads4 cores / 8 threads
WeightStarting at 1.48 kg (non-touch) / 1.51 kg (touch), HP specificationStarting at 1.59 kg (Lenovo specification, varies by chassis)
Battery LifeUp to 14 hoursUp to 10 hours
HPHP EliteBook 840 G8 – Core i5Rs. 89,999
DellDell Latitude 5420Rs. 51,000
Direct rivals2 configurations

We compare Pakistani prices and specs of the HP EliteBook 840 G8 and Dell Latitude 5420 to see which laptop gives you more for your budget.

Starting PriceRs. 89,999Rs. 51,000
Cores / Threads4 cores / 8 threads4 cores / 8 threads
WeightFrom 1.32 kg1.37 kg (Dell-listed maximum; varies by configuration)
Battery Life4–8 hours (estimated, light use)Up to 12 hours